top of page

Written down in God's Name


“23 Now it was not written that it was accounted to him for his sake alone, 24 but for our sake also, to whom it will be accounted, who believe in him who raised Jesus, our Lord, from the dead,” (Romans 4:23-24 WEB)

“For whatever things were written before were written for our learning, that through patience and through encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.” (Romans 15:4 WEB)

“16 Every Scripture is God-breathed and {or, Every writing inspired by God is} profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for instruction in righteousness, 17 that the man of God may be complete, thoroughly equipped for every good work.” (2 Timothy 3:16-17 WEB)

“19 We have the more sure word of prophecy; and you do well that you heed it, as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns, and the morning star arises in your hearts: 20 knowing this first, that no prophecy of Scripture is of private interpretation. 21 For no prophecy ever came by the will of man: but holy men of God spoke, being moved by the Holy Spirit.” (2 Peter 1:19-21 WEB)

“whom heaven must receive until the times of restoration of all things, which God spoke long ago by the mouth of his holy prophets.” (Acts 3:21 WEB)

“These words Yahweh spoke to all your assembly on the mountain out of the midst of the fire, of the cloud, and of the thick darkness, with a great voice: and he added no more. He wrote them on two tables of stone, and gave them to me.” (Deuteronomy 5:22 WEB)

“8 You shall write on the stones all the words of this law very plainly." 9 Moses and the priests the Levites spoke to all Israel, saying, "Keep silence, and listen, Israel: this day you have become the people of Yahweh your God. 10 You shall therefore obey the voice of Yahweh your God, and do his commandments and his statutes, which I command you this day."” (Deuteronomy 27:8-10 WEB)

“2 "The Spirit of Yahweh spoke by me. His word was on my tongue. 3 The God of Israel said, the Rock of Israel spoke to me, ‘One who rules over men righteously, who rules in the fear of God, 4 shall be as the light of the morning, when the sun rises, a morning without clouds, when the tender grass springs out of the earth, through clear shining after rain.’” (2 Samuel 23:2-4 WEB)

“Isn’t my word like fire? says Yahweh; and like a hammer that breaks the rock in pieces?” (Jeremiah 23:29 WEB)

“Then he answered and spoke to me, saying, "This is the word of Yahweh to Zerubbabel, saying, ‘Not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says Yahweh of Armies.” (Zechariah 4:6 WEB)

“Yes, they made their hearts as hard as flint, lest they might hear the law, and the words which Yahweh of Armies had sent by his Spirit by the former prophets. Therefore great wrath came from Yahweh of Armies.” (Zechariah 7:12 WEB)

“For David himself said in the Holy Spirit, ‘The Lord said to my Lord, "Sit at my right hand, until I make your enemies the footstool of your feet."’ {#Ps 110:1}” (Mark 12:36 WEB)

“"Brothers, it was necessary that this Scripture should be fulfilled, which the Holy Spirit spoke before by the mouth of David concerning Judas, who was guide to those who took Jesus.” (Acts 1:16 WEB)

“But the things which God announced by the mouth of all his prophets, that Christ should suffer, he thus fulfilled.” (Acts 3:18 WEB)

“By a prophet Yahweh brought Israel up out of Egypt, and by a prophet he was preserved.” (Hosea 12:13 WEB)

“This is my comfort in my affliction, for your word has revived me.” (Psalms 119:50 WEB)

“For the commandment is a lamp, and the law is light. Reproofs of instruction are the way of life,” (Proverbs 6:23 WEB)

“and showing loving kindness to thousands of those who love me and keep my commandments.” (Exodus 20:6 WEB)

“Yahweh said to Moses, "Come up to me on the mountain, and stay here, and I will give you the tables of stone with the law and the commands that I have written, that you may teach them."” (Exodus 24:12 WEB)

“and keep the instruction of Yahweh your God, to walk in his ways, to keep his statutes, his commandments, his ordinances, and his testimonies, according to that which is written in the law of Moses, that you may prosper in all that you do, and wherever you turn yourself.” (1 Kings 2:3 WEB)

“"Let your heart therefore be perfect with Yahweh our God, to walk in his statutes, and to keep his commandments, as at this day."” (1 Kings 8:61 WEB)

“or does he say it assuredly for our sake? Yes, it was written for our sake, because he who ploughs ought to plough in hope, and he who threshes in hope should partake of his hope.” (1 Corinthians 9:10 WEB)

“Now all these things happened to them by way of example, and they were written for our admonition, on whom the ends of the ages have come.” (1 Corinthians 10:11 WEB)

“for whom Yahweh loves, he reproves; even as a father reproves the son in whom he delights.” (Proverbs 3:12 WEB)

“holding to the faithful word which is according to the teaching, that he may be able to exhort in the sound doctrine, and to convict those who contradict him.” (Titus 1:9 WEB)

“for the sexually immoral, for homosexuals, for slave-traders, for liars, for perjurers, and for any other thing contrary to the sound doctrine;” (1 Timothy 1:10 WEB)

“If anyone teaches a different doctrine, and doesn’t consent to sound words, the words of our Lord Jesus Christ, and to the doctrine which is according to godliness,” (1 Timothy 6:3 WEB)

“Hold the pattern of sound words which you have heard from me, in faith and love which is in Christ Jesus.” (2 Timothy 1:13 WEB)

“This testimony is true. For this cause, reprove them sharply, that they may be sound in the faith,” (Titus 1:13 WEB)

“and you have forgotten the exhortation which reasons with you as with children, "My son, don’t take lightly the chastening of the Lord, nor faint when you are reproved by him";” (Hebrews 12:5 WEB)

“His disciples remembered that it was written, "Zeal for your house will eat me up." {#Ps 69:9}” (John 2:17 WEB)

“It is the spirit who gives life. The flesh profits nothing. The words that I speak to you are spirit, and are life.” (John 6:63 WEB)

“23 Jesus answered him, "If a man loves me, he will keep my word. My Father will love him, and we will come to him, and make our home with him. 24 He who doesn’t love me doesn’t keep my words. The word which you hear isn’t mine, but the Father’s who sent me. 25 I have said these things to you, while still living with you. 26 But the counsellor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things, and will remind you of all that I said to you. 27 Peace I leave with you. My peace I give to you; not as the world gives, give I to you. Don’t let your heart be troubled, neither let it be fearful. 28 You heard how I told you, ‘I go away, and I come to you.’ If you loved me, you would have rejoiced, because I said ‘I am going to my Father’; for the Father is greater than I. 29 Now I have told you before it happens so that, when it happens, you may believe. 30 I will no more speak much with you, for the prince of the world comes, and he has nothing in me. 31 But that the world may know that I love the Father, and as the Father commanded me, even so I do. Arise, let us go from here.” (John 14:23-31 WEB)

“Jesus therefore answered them, "My teaching is not mine, but his who sent me.” (John 7:16 WEB)

“For I spoke not from myself, but the Father who sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.” (John 12:49 WEB)

“10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? The words that I tell you, I speak not from myself; but the Father who lives in me does his works. 11 Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me; or else believe me for the very works’ sake. 12 Most certainly I tell you, he who believes in me, the works that I do, he will do also; and he will do greater works than these, because I am going to my Father. 13 Whatever you will ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you will ask anything in my name, I will do it. 15 If you love me, keep my commandments. 16 I will pray to the Father, and he will give you another counsellor, {Greek Parakleton: counsellor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, and Comforter.} that he may be with you forever,— 17 the Spirit of truth, whom the world can’t receive; for it doesn’t see him, neither knows him. You know him, for he lives with you, and will be in you. 18 I will not leave you orphans. I will come to you.” (John 14:10-18 WEB)

“When they didn’t agree among themselves, they departed after Paul had spoken one word, "The Holy Spirit spoke rightly through Isaiah, the prophet, to our fathers,” (Acts 28:25 WEB)

“10 Finally, be strong in the Lord, and in the strength of his might. 11 Put on the whole Armour of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For our wrestling is not against flesh and blood, but against the principalities, against the powers, against the world’s rulers of the darkness of this age, and against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places. 13 Therefore, put on the whole Armour of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and, having done all, to stand. 14 Stand therefore, having the utility belt of truth buckled around your waist, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, 15 and having fitted your feet with the preparation of the Good News of peace; 16 above all, taking up the shield of faith, with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the evil one. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word {from Greek rhema, which means spoken word} of God;” (Ephesians 6:10-17 WEB)

“But let us, since we belong to the day, be sober, putting on the breastplate of faith and love, and, for a helmet, the hope of salvation.” (1 Thessalonians 5:8 WEB)

“It is the spirit who gives life. The flesh profits nothing. The words that I speak to you are spirit, and are life.” (John 6:63 WEB)

“For the word of God is living, and active, and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing even to the dividing of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and is able to discern the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” (Hebrews 4:12 WEB)

“he shall not honour his father or mother.’ You have made the commandment of God void because of your tradition.” (Matthew 15:6 WEB)

“making void the word of God by your tradition, which you have handed down. You do many things like this."” (Mark 7:13 WEB)

“having been born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, through the word of God, which lives and remains forever.” (1 Peter 1:23 WEB)

“Now the apostles and the brothers {The word for "brothers" here and where context allows may also be correctly translated "brothers and sisters" or "siblings."} who were in Judea heard that the Gentiles had also received the word of God.” (Acts 11:1 WEB)

“For this cause we also thank God without ceasing, that, when you received from us the word of the message of God, you accepted it not as the word of men, but, as it is in truth, the word of God, which also works in you who believe.” (1 Thessalonians 2:13 WEB)

“For this we tell you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive, who are left to the coming of the Lord, will in no way precede those who have fallen asleep.” (1 Thessalonians 4:15 WEB)

“Of his own will he brought us forth by the word of truth, that we should be a kind of first fruits of his creatures.” (James 1:18 WEB)

++

Additional reading:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page